





## The results of the first competition of the After the Damages International Award

The names of the winners of the first competition of the *After the Damages International Award* were eventually unveiled. The event is linked to the international academy After the Damages, an initiative aimed at increasing both the resilience capacity (natural and anthropic) and the mitigating and management aspects in case of catastrophic or calamitous events. The academy is organised by the Department of Architecture of the University of Ferrara and the TekneHub industrial research laboratory (Technopole of the University of Ferrara). The course is carried out in collaboration with the University of Parma (Department of Engineering and Architecture), the University of Modena and Reggio Emilia ("Enzo Ferrari" Department of Engineering) with the support of the Italian Design Union. Moreover, the initiative has received the important support of the Agency for Earthquake Reconstruction 2012, the MiBACT Archaeologic Superintendence for fine arts and landscape, of the metropolitan city of Bologna and the provinces of Modena, Reggio Emilia and Ferrara and IBACN (Institute for Artistic, Cultural and Natural Heritage of the Emilia-Romagna Region).

The Award was conceived to disseminate projects, strategies, and achievements in the field of architecture, engineering, public management, and application in the field, which were able to interpret the complex topic of emergency, prevention, management and risk mitigation.

The 2021 Jury, chaired by Marcello Balzani and managed by the scientific coordinator of the award Luca Rossato and the secretary Ana Bigarella (University of Ferrara, Department of Architecture, Italy) consisted in ten members: Cristina Ambrosini (Emilia Romagna Cultural Heritage division, Italy), Alessandro Camiz (Özyeğin University, Faculty of Architecture and Design, Istanbul, Turkey), Alessandro Capra (University of Modena and Reggio Emilia, Department of Engineering, Italy), Enrico Cicalò (University of Sassari, Department of Architecture, Urban Planning and Industrial Design), Eva Coisson (University of Parma, Faculty of Architecture, Italy), Elena Dorato (University of Ferrara, Department of Architecture, Italy), Antonino Libro (Emilia-Romagna 2012 Post-Earthquake Agency, Italy), Federica Maietti (University of Ferrara, Department of Architecture, Italy), Nicola Marzot (University of Ferrara, Department of Architecture, Italy), Silvio Oksman (Metrópole arquitetos, São Paulo, Brazil), Paola Puma (University of Florence, Faculty of Architecture, Italy), Chiara Vernizzi (University of Parma, Faculty of Architecture, Italy).

## The four awarded projects, selected after a careful evaluation of the entries are:

- "Reciprocal Frame Shelter Kit (RSK) Project" by Shaun Halbert
- "Disaster resilient communities at microscale" by Daniele Fabrizio Bignami
- "L'aquila Church" by Antonio Citterio & Patricia Viel
- "Anti-seismic recovery of a Nepalese monument" by Eleonora Spoldi

## Other shortlisted projects greatly appreciated by the Jury are:

- "Home\*" by Tecla Caroli
- "Just a minute Temporary house for Nepal earthquake emergency" by Maurizio Barberio

The awarded projects are going to be presented to the public by the authors in an open webinar to be held in **January 2022.** 

After the Damages International Award University of Ferrara, Department of Architecture <a href="https://www.afterthedamages.com/international-award">www.afterthedamages.com/international-award</a> award@afterthedamages.com